Is the Central Florida Real Estate School accredited?
Central Florida Real Estate School is licensed and permitted by the Florida Real Estate Commission to teach certain Florida real estate license courses. Our permit number is ZH1002269.
How much does it cost to get a Florida real estate license?
1) Apply to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation
2) Fingerprints from Mobile Fingerprints
3) Real estate school at Central Florida Real Estate School
4) Take the Florida real estate exam
How do I get a real estate license?
Four steps to get a Florida real estate license:
1) Apply to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, (DBPR). Their telephone number is (850) 487-1395. They issues Florida
real estate licenses. This application costs $89. Their website is www.myfloridalicense.com. While going through the chapter in the book
that discusses it, we provide tips on how to apply for the license. You can apply on line.
2) Get your fingerprints taken by a vendor approved by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
This can cost up to $57. We have a place that comes to our classes, where they will do it for $53.
3) Pass Florida Real Estate Commission Course One.
You can take FREC this course at the Central Florida Real Estate School. We charge $349 for a classroom course. The state does allow
you to take this course online, which we offer for $170, but we encourage most people beginning their real estate career to take this
in a classroom setting. You must pass an exam given by the school to complete this course.
Anyone who does one of the 8 services of real estate (Advertise real estate services, Buy, Appraise, Rent, Sell, Auction, Lease,
Exchange) for another for compensation in the state of Florida must be licensed. For specific questions, you can go here
Do you administer the state exam in class?
No. The 63-hour course has its own end-of-course exam, which is also required by the state. After you have passed the course and
your application is approved, you may schedule the State Licensing Exam. The school does not administer this exam.
How long does it take to earn a Florida real estate license?
If you applied to DBPR online today at www.myfloridalicense.com (and there were no snafus in your background check), you would probably
be approved by the FREC within a couple weeks. You must also pass the
Florida Real Estate Commission Course One to take their Florida
real estate exam given by Pearson VUE. As soon as that test is passed, you have a Florida
real estate license. We've seen it happen within two weeks, but the state allows itself 90 days.
Where can I find an application to get a Florida real estate license?
To apply for a Florida real estate license, go to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation's website
at www.myfloridalicense.com to apply on line or you can download the Florida real estate license application and
mail it to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation in Tallahassee. You can call them on the telephone
at (850) 487-1395. Be sure you answer all the questions on the Florida real estate license application fully and honestly.
Do I have to get my fingerprints taken?
Yes. When you apply to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation for a Florida real estate license, you
have to have your fingerprints taken by a vendor approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission. One such vendor is
Pearson VUE, the same people that give the Florida real estate exam. You can reach them by phone at (877) 238-8232 or
at their website. At Central Florida Real Estate School, we have
an approved fingerprint expert come by the class room and take fingerprints. This is done for your convenience.
What is the difference between a Sales Associate and a Broker?
When Sales Associates work with home buyers and sellers, they do so under the direction, control or management of a
Broker. In order to become a broker, one must
Hold an active real estate sales associate license and complete 24 months real estate experience during the 5 year period preceding becoming licensed as a broker.
Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints (yes, again), and appropriate fee.
Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination with a grade of at least 75.
Successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for brokers consisting of at least 60 classroom hours prior to the expiration of the initial broker license.
I have a license in another state, do I need to attend training?
If you live in Florida, the 63-hour Sales Associate Pre-License Course is required. If you live out of state,
Florida has mutual recognition agreements with Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and
Tennessee. This means that If you have an active license in one of those states, you may not need to take the course.
A 40-question test on Florida real estate law would still be required.
Are there military discounts or reimbursements?
The state may waive or reimburse fees for military veterans. There is New Legislation in Effect, which says
Military on active duty holding professional licenses, military spouse, and veterans of the armed services holding or obtaining a CAML, real estate license, or Home Inspection license my have benefits.
Active Duty members are exempt from all license renewal requirements for the duration of active duty and for a period of six months after discharge.
For Veterans, the Department has waived the initial licensing fee, the initial application fee, and the initial unlicensed activity fee for military veterans who apply for a state license within 24 months after an honorable discharge from any branch of the United States Armed Forces. For more information, see this site.
The VA will reimburse eligible applicants for the cost of licensing and certification examinations, not to exceed $2,000 per test. These licensing and certification exams must be generally deemed necessary to pursue a trade or profession.
F.S. Ch 205.171 allows disabled vets to claim a $50 discount toward their state license fee.
The spouse of an active duty member of the United State Armed Forces may be issued a temporary license to the practice a profession in Florida. The applicant’s spouse must be on active duty and assigned to a duty station in Florida. The applicant must hold a valid license for the profession in another state, the District of Columbia, any United State territory or possession, or a foreign jurisdiction. The license is valid for six months.
For more details about the entire law, click here.
How do I become an instructor?
"School instructor" means an individual who instructs persons in the classroom in noncredit college courses in a college, university, or community college, or courses in an area technical center or proprietary real estate school. Where the course or courses to be taught are prescribed by the FREC precedent to licensure or renewal as a real estate sales associate or broker. The applicant must certify their competency and obtain an instructor permit by meeting one of the following three requirements:
Hold a bachelor's degree in a business-related subject (such as real estate, finance, accounting, business administration, or its equivalent) and hold a valid broker's license in this state.
Hold a bachelor's degree, have extensive real estate experience (as defined by rule) and hold a valid broker's license in this state.
Afterwrds, they must submit a completed DBPR RE 13-Instructor Transactions form to register as a Real Estate Instructor for a real estate school and fulfil the continuing education requirement for a real estate instructor is a minimum of 7 classroom hours of instruction in real estate subjects or instructional techniques as prescribed by the FREC.